City marks 49th Charter Day today

A YEAR AGO. Mayor John Geesnell L. Yap rendering his frist State of the City Address during last year's observance of City Charter Day at teh Bohol Cultural Center.

A YEAR AGO. Mayor John Geesnell L. Yap rendering his frist State of the City Address during last year’s observance of City Charter Day at teh Bohol Cultural Center.

City residents will pause and join today’s observance of the 49th Charter Day celebration which will also be a prelude to the city’s Golden Year Charter Day grand event next year.

Mayor John Geesnell Yap who is the 6th mayor since Tagbilaran was chartered as a city wayback in 1966 with the late Mayor Venancio Inting as the first city mayor.

Yap, the youngest city chief executive will deliver his second State of the City Address at the Bohol Cultural Center this morning.

Today is a special non-working public holiday for the city, with classes and offices closed to allow every city resident to join in the observance.

A Thanksgiving mass will be officiated at the St. Joseph Cathedral at 7:15am. The commemorative program at the Bohol Cultural Center will start at 9 o’clock this morning which will be covered live over dyRD-AM.

City Administrator Edi Borja will open the program.

Gov. Edgar Chatto, Rep. Rene Relampagos, Rep. Aris Aumentado and Rep. Arthur Yap will deliver their brief messages.

Vice Mayor Jose Antonio Veloso, as presiding officer of the Sangguniang Panlungsod will convene the city lawmakers.

Intermission numbers will be rendered by the Tagbilaran City Choir while the candidates for the Miss Bohol Sandugo will be presented.


Momentous as it is, today’s occasion of the City’s 49th Charter Day  will affirm and recognize the contributions and example of outstanding and distinguished Tagbilaranons.

Leading the awardees is Vice Gov. Concepcion Lim who will be bestowed the Lifetime Achievement Award. Last year, this award was given to  Gov. Edgar Chatto who was cited for his support and commitment to the city’s development.

The Distinguished Tagbilaranon Award will be given to former Mayor Jose Torralba and former Vice Mayor Luciano Pamaong, while a Special Plaque of Recognition will be given to former City Councilor Manuel Hontanosas. The trio are recognized because of their pivotal role in crafting of the city’s charter.

The top three taxpayers of 2014 are: Alturas Supermarket Corporation, Bohol Quality Corporation and Coca-Cola Philippines. The Business Achievement Awards will be given to Dr. Cristeta Balili-Tirol of Cristal e-College and Leonardo Uy of the Alturas Corporation. The Family of the Year is conferred to the heirs of Juan L. Uy and Segundina Malmis; the Couple of the Year is Mr. Waben C. Lim and Dr. Estrella P. Lim; the Outstanding Public Servant is P/Supt. George Acol Vale.

FCB Chairman Richard Uy will be given the Outstanding Leadership Award.

The Outstanding Public Service Award in the Field of Mass Media will be given to Bohol Chronicle editor Zoilo Dejaresco III, Teofredo Araneta of dyRD and Carlito Responte of dyTR.

The Outstanding Community Service Award will be given to SM Foundation Inc., Banco De Oro Foundation, Inc., Security Bank Foundation, Inc., Bohol Bankers Association, Ambassador Carlos Chan, Tagbilaran Association of Northern California and to the Bohol Medical Care Institute.

The Meritorious Service Award  to couple Drs. Salvador and Betty Labado; the Adopted Son of Tagbilaran is Police Chief Superintendent Prudencio Tom Bañas; the Mother of the Year is Melecia Du.

The Outstanding Traffic Enforcers are Jeffrey Rementizo and Manuel Fortich, Jr.; the Honesty Award to PO1 John Butch Epile, Aristedes Taghap and Eleuterio Sumod-ong; the Centenarian Award to Gregorio Gallos; the Posthumous Award to Onecimo Oclarit.

A Plaque of Recognition in the Field of Culture and the Arts will be given to Teodorico Ramasola and Enriqueta Butalid;

In the Field of Education, a plaque of recognition be given to Atty. Nuevas Tirol-Montes of the University of Bohol, Rev. Fr. Florante Camacho of the Holy Name University, and Dr. Elpidio Magante of the Bohol Island State University

Aside from these top-notch Tagbilaranons, the event will also recognize the dedicated men and women of the city governance. The City Government Service Awards will honor those who have served the City Government in 20, 25, 30 and 35 years.

The awardees in the 20 year category are Corazon Antonio, Arsenia Avila, Samuel Belderol, Asuncion Epe, Eduvigis Sarabia; those in 25 years in service are given to Anecita Alcala, Fe Esdrelon, Ursicenio Espejo, Teresita Gono, Jovencio Ingking, Estella Margate, Rosemarie Palma, Felisa Tejano, and Nestor Visarra; those in 30 years of service went to Leonardo Balatero, Leonida Barol, Danilo Bongcaras, Felixcita Casinillo, Remedios Gabod, Virginia Manguilimotan, Leonita Relamida, Carmax Sarmiento, Floro Tabuno, and Rosita Tatad; then lastly are those employees who have served for 35 years led by Laureano Belano, Emma Karaan, Catalina Naparota, and Esmeralda Ramirez.



“Tagbilaran city born today.”

Thus, goes the banner headline of the Bohol Chronicle exactly forty nine years ago today, on July 1, 1966.

The story proceeds stating how simplicity marked the rites accompanying the birth of the capital city of Tagbilaran which was created by Republic Act 4660 and passed by the First Session of the sixth Congress. The law enacting the new metropolis was jointly authored by Rep. Natalio Castillo, Jose Zafra and Teodoro Galagar. The measure was signed by President Ferdinand Marcos on June 18, 1966. Continue reading

Bohol Police Head Reap Regional Awards

agustinThe  Philippine National Police nationwide  is  celebrating in the observance  of the 20th  Police Community Relations Month for the whole Month of July  2015  thru Presidential Proclamation No. 764 dated  January 2005 declaring  the  every July as PCR Month with this year’s theme:  “ Matibay na Ugnayan ng Mamamayan at Pulisya Simbolo ng Kapayapaan at Kaunlaran ng Sambayanan”.  The  Kick-off ceremony  will be held on Monday  June 29, 2015 @ 8:00 O’clock in the morning  at  Police Regional Office 7  quadrangle, Cebu City as well as  at the Bohol Police Provincial Office  coinciding  with the traditional Monday flag raising ceremony In a simple but fitting undertakings to give meaning to the celebration. Continue reading

23 vie for Miss Bohol

Twenty three Boholanas are vying for this year’s most coveted crown. Miss Bohol 2015 candidates have begun their journey to pageant night on July 18, 2015 at the Bohol Wisdom School Gymnasium.

Miss Bohol 2014 Queenie Melody Fullante will turn over the crown to one of this year’s list of hopefuls, which include Breza Gayle Balighot (Dimiao); Erin Kate Javellana (Alicia); Claree Ann Aumentado (San Isidro); Charmaine Ness Sagaral (Panglao); Ma. Rhea Rebecca Rocha (Jagna); Mary Eda Cimafranca (Tagbilaran City); Paulene Quinal (Balilihan); Jissa Baugbog (Corella); Jillian Ylarde (Anda); Lara Ann Lumayag (Sum Finance Services Corporation); Katrina Decker (Cortes); Shiella Estareja (Dauis); Cindy Lopez (Carmen); Dahlia Rose Rada (Loon); Marjorie Monte (Pres. Carlos P. Garcia); Ma. Jaira Redulla (Guindulman); Clarlaine Radoc (Tubigon); Ma. Yvonne Perocho (Sierra Bullones); Portia Quejada (Batuan); Mae Regil Versoza (Talibon); Imaculada Cleofe Leopardas (Baclayon); Mary Jane Malaran (Bilar); and Liezel May Turtoga (BISU). Continue reading